If you have data entry rights then you can view the deleted documents for the record. This is helpful if someone accidentally deletes the wrong document.
Once you have viewed the documents you can act on them much the same way as the active (not deleted) documents with one exception.
You can recover the selected documents by using the "Restore Document(s)" option. Use this option to recover the documents mistakenly deleted.
You can purge the selected documents by using the "Purge Document(s)" option. Use this option to completely remove the document(s) from disk and from the database.